Show Off

H.O.T.S. – Hot Off The Spindle / New Wheel Imminent 

That’s right. I don’t yet have a spinning wheel, so all of my handspun is done on a drop spindle. I used to make everything on a pretty good sized Kromski top whorl, but I got a small (just over 1 oz.) Turkish drop spindle for Christmas. It has really given me a chance to spin some much finer yarn than I was able to to on the larger one. I still use the big one, though. It’s perfect for plying.

I wanted to share with you a few of the handspun yarns that I have made in the last few weeks. I’ve really been cranking them out in the hopes of selling them at a new craft store here in town. Don’t fret. I did order a spinning wheel a few days ago, which will be much easier for production. 

Clockwise from upper left:

1.Mystery birthday wool that I dyed experimentally using ice. This FAIL turned out really well, actually. 

2.More mystery birthday wool that I dyed with Wilton’s gel food color. I was playing with breaking violet and it turned out as planned. There are a few turquoise Teeswater locks in there as well. 

3. This is 100% Merino from Edgewood Garden Studio. It’s a fingering weight, perfect for a snuggly next-to-skin project. 

4. Also from Edgewood Garden Studio, this is Cheviot. It’s fractal spun to make stripes within stripes. To me, it seems pretty masculine. I named it “Leather Bound Books.” Anchorman quotes FTW!

That’s what I’ve been up to in the last few weeks. I’ve been juggling little wooly turtle shells from one spindle to another, to and from my make shift Lazy Kate, and then to my improvised niddy noddy. My new spinning wheel will come with both! 

Stayed tuned for the next HOTS. Maybe I’ll have a whole pile of yarnies to show off! 

Leave a Reply

